Click to return to the Library Homepage

Guide to Resources & Research in Geology/Earth Sciences

Compiled by D. Metzger
CSUS Associate Science Librarian

 

Identifying Journal Articles

Discussion Lists

Locating USGS publications 

Citing Electronic Resources & other Reference Tools

Books

Recommend a Purchase

Library Research Tutorials

Or explore these links to a variety of interesting web sites:

Climate

Volcanoes

Hydrology


Identifying Useful Journal Articles

return to the top

Step #1 Try using one of the following databases to identify useful journal articles.  Most of these databases are restricted to CSUS students, faculty and staff. Click here if you need help with remote access.

Step # 2 Once you have identified the article you need, determine whether we own the journal by using EUREKA Library Catalog, or the Journal Locator List. For an explanation of finding specific articles in specific databases refer to the Guide by Ann Bradley.

Step #3 If we don't own the journal or have electronic access to it, you may request the Library borrow it for you through our Inter-Library Loan service (you can also borrow books through ILL)

Database

Description

Content Level

These databases are available to CSUS users and can be accessed through the Library's Databases and Periodical Indexes page found at:
 http://www.library.csus.edu/databases/

  • Georefs

Includes citations for journals, books, maps and reports in this comprehensive index which covers earth science in North America from 1785 to the present and the world from 1933 to the present.

technical

  • Mineralogical Abstracts
Available in print only. 2 South Index area, QEZ 6031 .M56. Contains bibliographic citations to the worlds journal literature in mineralogy, geochemistry, petrology, crystallography, meteoritics and allied subjects. Coverage from 1962. technical
  • Article 1st

Contains bibliographic citations to 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Coverage from 1990.

general & technical

  • Applied Science & Technology

Includes bibliographic citations from 1983 to the present in every area of science, engineering, and technology. Covers October 1983 to the present.

technical & general

  • EbscoHost Academic Search Preimer

Contains indexing and abstracting on all subjects for over 3,000 periodicals including full-text for about 1,000.

general & technical

  • Environmental Policy Index 

Database of article citations, dating back to 1973. Included are citations to journals focusing on the full range of environmental topics, including scientific, technical, law and policy, socioeconomic, and popular titles from around the world.

technical & general

  • MarciveWeb Docs

MarciveWeb DOCS is a citation catalog of U.S. Government publications, reports, and maps from July 1976 to the present.

technical & general

  • ScienceDirect

Full-text access to more than 1,000 scientific, technical and medical journals.

technical

  • Engineering Village 2
Index to over 5,000 engineering journals/conferences. From 1980 to the present technical
  • Wiley Interscience

Wiley InterScience is the full-text online journals service from John Wiley & Sons. Subject covered are business, computer science, education, engineering, law, life and physical sciences, math, and psychology. More than 300 journals, with most titles reaching back to 1996. Hint: look for "journal search" located near the bottom of the page to begin your search.

general & technical

Check the "Specific Subjects" access to databases (on the left side of the screen) page for additional databases!
or send me an e-mail with your question: Deborah Metzger


Locating USGS and other Series Publications

return to top

This Library receives many publications from the USGS and other government agencies, however you cannot find many of them listed in EUREKA by author or paper title. The easiest way to find them is to determine the series and report number and then use the following list to identify a call number. For older reports you also may try to find them by linking to the appropriate agency listed below; or by searching the Publications Warehouse  from within the USGS. Many reports are available on the Web and searchable via the Publications Warehouse or the agency links below.

Note: These titles are series that are those most frequently asked for however this list is not comprehensive, refer to the EUREKA Library Catalog for complete records.

Title

Agency

Call Number

Years Owned

Volumes Owned

USGS

Annual Report

QE 75 .A6

1880/81-1904/5

1975-present

v. 2-26

Note: online 1997-2000

USGS

Bulletin

QE 75 .B9

1883-present

All

USGS

Circular

QE 75 .C5

1933-present

All

USGS

Monograph of the U.S. Geological Survey

QE 1. M 7

1890-1929

All

USGS

Open-File Reports

QE 75 .O7

select reports beginning-1968- present

Individually cataloged; check EUREKA

USGS

Professional Papers

QE 75 .P9

1902-present

All

USGS

Water Resource Investigations Report

TD 224 .C3 U54

select reports beginning 1973- present

Selected titles only

USGS

Water Supply Papers

TC 801 .U2

1897-present

no. 2-present

 

USGS-Water Resources Division

Water Resources Data for California

TC 801 .U222

1961- present

Note: data is online beginning 1994.See
link for access. See Factsheet 078-02

Geological Society of America [GSA]

Abstracts With Programs

QE 1 G2 .G142

1961- present

 
         

CA Dept of Water Resources

Bulletin

REF TD 224 .C2 A32

1922- present

All

         

CA Division of Mines and Geology {DMG]

Bulletin

TN 4 C2 .A3

1896- present

No. 9- present

CA DMG

Report of the State Geologist

TN 24 C2 .A325

1886, 1888, 1890, 1957/58-1975/76

No. 6, 8, 10, 55-69

CA DMG

Special Report

TN 24 C2 .A33

1950- present

All

         

US Bureau of Mines

Bulletin

TN 23 .U4

1970-

No. 1-

US Bureau of Mines

Information Circular

TN 295 .U4

1926-1981

No. 6007-9446 (some missing)


Locating Books

return to top

EUREKA Library Catalog

For books at the CSUS Library search the EUREKA Library Catalog. You can search by author, title or keywords (word). If you aren't looking for a specific book begin with a word search.

Hint: Once you've found an interesting title use the subjects listed at the bottom of the record to search to find other books on the same topic. Books on similar topics are shelved near each other, so remember to browse the bookshelves once you locate your book.

MELVYL

UC's catalog

World Cat

A huge database to search when you are trying to find out if a book has ever been published. Access via the Library's Databases & Periodical Indexes page.


Discussion Groups [ Lists]

return to the top

Become part of an e-mail community with interest similar to yours by subscribing to a list. The groups vary in range from specific (volcanoes, climatology) to very general (earth science, geology).

·        Google Groups, contain the entire archive of Usenet discussion groups dating back to 1995. Stick with  the .sci for scientific discussions. There is also a clear explanation of how groups work linked from Group Help.


Citing Electronic Sources & Other Reference Tools

return to the top


Recommend a Purchase

return to the top

Suggestions for new books or journals which support the curriculum are welcome. Please send as much information as you have (title, author, publisher, ISBN/ISSN, price) and why the item would be a useful addition to our collection.


 Library Research Tutorials

return to the top

These seven of tutorials can be used independently and will help guide you through the process of library research.

·         Define the Research Topic

·         Determine the Information Requirements

·         Locate & Retrieve Relevant Information

·         Use the Technological Tools for Accessing Information

·         Evaluate Information

·         Understanding the Ethical, Legal & Socio-Political Issues Surrounding Information & Information Technology


Climate

return to the top


Volcanoes

return to the top

2 NORTH Reference QE 522 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of volcanoes
Haraldur Sigurdsson


Hydrology

 return to the top

2 North Atlas
G 1526 .C3 P536 1995
Planert, Michael and John Williams
Ground Water Atlas of the United States, Segment 1, California/Nevada


Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Deborah Metzger, Science Reference Librarian
9.20.05 rev. 2.14.08.   Last revised 02/14/2008 11:30 AM

.